- Bearing Drift - https://bearingdrift.com -

Campbell Wins By One Vote in 24th HOD District, Challenger Calls for Recount

With four candidates running for the 24th House District seat held by Ben Cline since 2002, and with more than 2,800 votes cast, Rockbridge Supervisor Ronnie Campbell was declared Saturday’s winner by one vote:

Jimmy Ayers: 1,067
Catie Austin-Brown: 694
Ronnie Campbell: 1,068
Jay Lewis: 154

Saturday night, after a recount and reports that runner-up, Amherst County Supervisor Jimmy Ayers, had conceded, Campbell was declared the winner. A statement was released from the Campbell campaign and House Leader Kirk Cox sent out a press release with congratulations.

At 11:30 Saturday night, however,  Ayers posted on Facebook with a statement that put Campbell’s win on hold:

Sunday morning, calling for a prompt and efficient recount, Virginia House Speaker Kirk Cox released the following statement:

There has been no statement published from 24th House Legislative District Committee chairman Vance Wilkins.

Democrats also held a Firehouse Primary Saturday and elected Christian Worth, a Lexington lawyer, as their nominee.

The special election between the Republican and Democratic nominees will be held on Tuesday, December 18.

See also:

Firehouse Primary for 24th HOD Seat – UPDATE: Ronnie Campbell Wins [1]

24th HOD: Ben Cline Won. Now What? [2]