- Bearing Drift - https://bearingdrift.com -

Iowa Caucus 2020: Democratic Party Plans to Release Results by 5 p.m. – FINAL RESULTS

The Iowa Democratic Caucus was yesterday — Monday, February 3, 2020.

It is now 2:30 on Tuesday afternoon and the results still have not been released. In other words, candidates, participants, and political junkies still don’t know who won.

The Democratic Party has announced the results will be announced by 5:00 p.m. this afternoon (EST), according to the Washington Post [1], and they will have the results listed here [2].

Meanwhile, the candidates — Joe Biden, Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Pete Buttigieg, Amy Klobuchar, Andrew Yang, and Tom Steyer — have already moved on … some have hit the ground running in New Hampshire where the next caucus will take place.

Campaign workers left behind in Iowa have been left to clean up … and wait for results.

Stay tuned and keep an eye to the news at 5:00. Aren’t you glad you’re not a candidate with this uncertainty hanging over your campaign….

UPDATE #1 – Tuesday: A partial vote [3] was released at 5:00 p.m. that has the numbers so far (see here [2]). At this point Pete Buttigieg and Bernie Sanders are vying for first place, followed by Warren, and Biden. Stay tuned for continued shifting of the numbers.

UPDATE #2 – Wednesday a.m.: With 71.44 percent of precincts reporting: Pete Buttigieg 26.8% … Bernie Sanders 25.2% … Elizabeth Warren 18.4% … Joe Biden 15.4% … Amy Klobuchar 12.6% … Andrew Yang 1.1% … Tom Steyer 0.3%.

UPDATE #3 – Thursday p.m.: With 100 percent of precincts finally reporting, the final lineup out of Iowa:

-Pete Buttigieg: 26.2%

-Bernie Sanders: 26.1%

-Elizabeth Warren: 18%

-Joe Biden: 15.8%

-Amy Klobuchar: 12.3%

-Andrew Yang: 1.0%

Read more at the Des Moines Register [4].

UPDATE #4 – FINAL RESULTS:  Finally on Sunday, February 9, 2020 — almost a week after the caucus — Iowa Democratic officials released the final numbers, and they showed that Pete Buttigieg held onto his lead.

The final results show that Buttigieg won 14 delegates while Bernie Sanders has 12. Read the update here [5].